Name the Three Organs of the Government and What are their Functions?

By Esha Dhawan|Updated : June 22nd, 2022

For a democracy to work smoothly, it is crucial that all the organs work well together to create and implement laws. When all the organs are in harmony together, there is stability and unity in the democracy. But what are these organs of government? Let’s find out in detail. 

The three main organs of government are:

  1. Legislature
  2. Executive
  3. Judiciary

It is the nature of these organs to bridge the gap between civilians and the government by maintaining peace and enforcing laws formed by the government.

Table of Content


The basic function of the legislature is to form the laws and procedures that must be followed by the citizens. It further examines the resolutions and the administration and enacts laws. What makes the legislature truly essential is that it is also responsible for the smooth functioning of the other two organs of government. Also, it is regarded as the first among the three organs because unless the legislature enacts the laws, there will be no execution or application of laws.


Next up, we have the executive, which comprises the Prime Minister, President/ Governor, Chief Ministers, Council of Ministers at the Union/State level, along with the administration responsible for enforcing laws made by the legislature. The executive helps implement the laws formed by the legislature and enforces the will of the government. Hence, we can say that the executive is the administrative head of the state. 


The judiciary is formed by the Supreme Court of India at the top and the community courts at the bottom. The high courts, district courts and subordinate courts are also a part of the judiciary. It is the job of the judiciary to interpret the laws and settle disputes to bring justice to the people. The judiciary is often called the ‘watchdog of democracy’ or the ‘guardian of the constitution. 


What are the Three Organs of the Government?

A democratic country works smoothly only when the three main organs of government work well together. The organs include - the legislature, the executive and the judiciary. Each organ has its specific function that it must perform efficiently to maintain law and order in the state.

☛ Related Questions: 

Why do we need political parties?

What is universal adult franchise?

Describe the Powers and Functions of the Prime Minister of India



write a comment


  • The 3 organs of government are - the legislature, executive and judiciary. It is only when these organs work together smoothly that there can be peace and justice in the country.

  • The legislature is responsible for enacting laws, the executive is responsible for implementing the laws and the judiciary is responsible for interpreting the laws and bringing justice to the citizens.

SSC & Railway

CGLSSC GDDFCCILCHSLCPONTPCMTSStenoGroup DDelhi PoliceOthersCoursesMock Test
tags :SSC & RailwayGeneralRRC Group D Level 1RRB ParamedicalITBP RecruitmentRailway Apprentice Jobs & ExamsIndia Post

Follow us for latest updates