Mention the Capital City of Assam

By Esha Dhawan|Updated : July 5th, 2022

Assam is a part of the seven sister states of Northeast India and is situated in the south of the eastern Himalayas. The state is famous for its tea and silk that is exported all over India. The capital of Assam is the city of Dispur since the year 1972 after its administrative reorganisation. Before 1972, the capital of Assam was Shillong but it was changed after Shillong became the capital of Meghalaya which was created out of Assam.


The capital of Assam is the city of Dispur

The secretariat building and the state government office of Assam are both situated in this city. It is one of the most famous and visited tourist attractions of the state and the Guwahati Tea Auction Centre is also located here. 

Furthermore, the climate in the capital of Assam consists of warm summers and cold winters with some rainfall from March to May. 


What is the Capital of Assam?

The city of Dispur is the capital of Assam since the year 1972. Before that, the capital city of Assam was the city of Shillong which is now the capital of another Northeastern state- Meghalaya. The city of Dispur is the most visited place with thousands of tourists coming to visit every year. 


☛ Related Questions:


write a comment

SSC & Railway

CGLSSC GDDFCCILCHSLCPONTPCMTSStenoGroup DDelhi PoliceOthersCoursesMock Test

Follow us for latest updates