MICAT 2022 Exam Pattern: Detailed Paper Pattern, Marks Distribution

MICAT 2022 Exam Pattern: Detailed Paper Pattern, Marks Distribution

ByAditi Joshi  |  Updated on: Nov 9, 2021
MICAT 1 2022 exam conducted. Check Exam analysis by top faculty! MICAT exam dates have been announced. Get details about MICAT 1 and MICAT 2 exam such as dates, apply online, eligibility, syllabus and more.
Sign up for Free Mock Test

MICAT Exam Pattern 2022

MICA releases the MICAT Exam Pattern 2022 with the release of the notification. MICAT Exam Pattern witnessed several changes at the time of MICAT 2021. MICA has been shortened the exam time from 2 hours 45 minutes to 2 hours 15 minutes (last year). MICAT 1 exam pattern is similar to MICAT 2 exam pattern. MICA, Ahmedabad (MICA) released the latest MICAT 2022 exam pattern online. MICAT test pattern 2022 will provide you with detailed information on the exam structure and the number of questions that will most likely be asked. Candidates will learn about the MICAT exam duration and scoring scheme, among other things.

The goal of Mudra Institute of Communications Ahmedabad's MICAT test pattern 2022 is to help applicants develop a strong plan for appearing in and scoring well on the MICAT entrance exam. Read on to learn more about the MICAT 2022 pattern, including the question paper structure, exam duration, examination mode, and more.

Highlights about MICAT 2022

  • MICAT happens twice a year - MICAT 1 and MICAT 2
  • Any candidate applying for MICAT must have appeared for either of the three exams - CAT / XAT / GMAT (2020 onwards)
  • The exam pattern for MICAT 1 and 2 is the same. 

MICAT 2022 Section-Wise Exam Pattern

MICAT Exam Pattern 2022 has changed. See below the changed MICAT Exam Pattern 2022 and prepare accordingly.



Number of Questions (Expected)

Time (mins)

Part 1

Psychometric Test



Part 2

Verbal Ability



Quantitative Ability


General Awareness


Divergent- Convergent Thinking


Part 3

Descriptive Test



  • MICA authorities are yet to release the MICAT Notification 2022 and the MICAT Exam Pattern 2022 might change a bit
  • Courses offered - PGDM and PGDM-C
  • Duration on the exam - 2 hrs and 15 mins
  • The test is in online mode - Computer-Based Testing (CBT)
  • The PT or Psychometric Test is nothing but a qualifier round and any candidate can only go to Section B (Descriptive Test - DT) once PT is qualified

MICAT Marking Scheme 2022

  • As of now, for each correct response, 1 mark is awarded and 0.25 marks are deducted for each incorrect response from VA, GA, QADI and DCR sections.
  • There is no negative marking for questions in PT and DT Sections


Marking Scheme

Marks for Correct Answer

+1 mark per correct answer

Negative Marking for Incorrect Answer

-0.25 marks per incorrect answer

MICAT Syllabus 2022

Check the overview of the MICAT 2022 Syllabus below. 


Section Name


Section A

Psychometric Test (PT)

Personality based, Career based, Situation based, Judgement, Life Goals, Thinking ability

Section B

Descriptive Test (DT)

The argument, Essay, Personal opinion, Debatable topics, Picture-Perception and Discussion test

Section C

Divergent & Convergent Reasoning (DCR)

Reasoning based question, Sequence and series, Statement-Assumption, Word Association etc.

Quantitative Ability & Data Interpretation (QADI)

Number system, Algebra, Arithmetic, Time & Work, Permutation-Combination, Probability, Graphs, Tables, Statistics, Charts, Geometry, Trigonometry

Verbal Ability (VA)

Parts of Speech, Para Jumbles, Sentence Completion, Fill in the Blanks, Reading Comprehension, Antonyms-Synonyms, Vocabulary based

General Awareness (GA)

Business affairs, Current affairs, Politics, Indian Constitution, History, Science and Research, Innovation, Literature, Sports etc.

MICAT Selection Procedure 2022

Candidates who pass the MBA entrance exam are invited to participate in the MICAT selection process. They must take part in a group exercise as well as a personal interview. The MICAT selection procedure is broken down into three steps, as follows:

Step 1: CAT/XAT/GMAT: At least one of the three exams: CAT/XAT/GMAT (CAT/ XAT/ GMAT) must have been taken by each candidate (onwards).

Step 2: MICA Admission Test (MICAT): MICAT, which comprises three portions, is used to evaluate all candidates. 

  • Section A: Psychometric Test
  • Section B: (has 4 sub-sections) - Verbal Ability, Quantitative Ability and Data Interpretation, General Awareness; Divergent and Convergent Thinking
  • Section C: Descriptive Test.

Step 3: GE and PI: All candidates who have been shortlisted based on their CAT/XAT/GMAT and MICAT scores are required to participate in both the Group Exercise (GE) and the Personal Interview (PI).

Stages Weightage


MICAT Exam Pattern FAQs

  • Yes, any candidate can apply and appear for both MICAT 1 and MICAT 2 and the better of the two scores will be considered for evaluation in the selection process

  • Any candidate who has appeared for CAT, XAT and/or GMAT, the best of the three scores will be considered for the purpose of selection

  •  A candidate’s performance in Section C of MICAT 1 or MICAT 2 (VA, GA, DCR and QADI) will be responsible for his/her shortlisting in GE-PI rounds of the selection process

  • No, IIMs, XLRI and GMAC have nothing to do with the selection process of the MIC-Ahmedabad. The scores of CAT, XAT and GMAT are only considered for the selection of any candidate.

  • PT or Psychometric Test is a part of MICAT test thus it is necessary to attempt all the 3 sections of the exam