

# SSC Exams Lok Sabha Study Notes PDF



https://byjusexamprep.com





# Lok Sabha

The Parliament of India is the supreme legislative authority of the Republic of India. It is a bicameral government comprised of the President of India and two houses: **the Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and the Lok Sabha (Local Government) (House of the People).** In his capacity as head of the legislature, the president has complete authority to summon and prorogue either house of Parliament, as well as dissolve the Lok Sabha. Only on the recommendation of the prime minister and his Union Council of Ministers can the president exercise these powers.

In this article, we will provide SSC Polity Notes on "Total Number of Lok Sabha Seats in India (State Wise)" along with information on highest number of Lok Sabha seats, Lok Sabha seats in MP, West Bengal and Lok Sabha seats notes PDF for upcoming SSC exams.

### Lok Sabha Elections in India

Members of Parliament (MPs) are elected/appointed from states, union territories, or from a certain field of competence. Lok Sabha elections are held every five years under the guise of general elections. The Indian Constitution established universal adult franchise as the basis for elections to the Lok Sabha and state legislative assemblies.

## Important Articles Related to Lok Sabha

Following are the most important Articles related to Lok Sabha that are asked majorly from the SSC syllabus for Polity:

Articles	Provision	
Article	Elections to Lok Sabha shall be on the basis of adult suffrage	
326 (Part		
XŶ)		
Article 83	Lok Sabha will continue for 5 years, unless sooner dissolved,	
(2)	from the date appointed for its first meeting and no longer	
	and the expiration of the said period of five years shall	
	operate as a dissolution of the House	
Article 75	Council of Ministers are collectively responsible to Lok Sabha	
Article	Power, superintendence of Election Commission w.r.t. Lok	
324	Sabha elections and more	

# Lok Sabha Seats in India

The Lok Sabha, also known as the House of the People, is the lower house of India's bicameral Parliament, with the Rajya Sabha serving as the upper chamber. Members of the Lok Sabha are chosen to represent their various districts through adult universal suffrage and a first-past-the-post system, and they serve for five years or until the body is dissolved by the President on the









recommendation of the Council of Ministers. The Lok Sabha Chambers of the Sansad Bhavan in New Delhi are where the chamber meets. The Constitution of India allows for a limit of 550 members in the House. (Initially, in 1950, it was 500). The house currently has 543 seats, which are filled by the voting of up to 543 elected members.

# Lok Sabha Seats (State Wise)

Important information regarding the Lok Sabha seats (State-wise) is as follows:

• Maximum Strength – 550 (after article 331- 2 seats reserved for Anglo Indian but by 104th Constitution Amendment article 331 is null by parliament before this amendment maximum seat will 552)

• Actual Strength -543

#### • Maximum seats -

1. State – Uttar Pradesh (80), Maharashtra (48)

2. UT - National Capital Region, Delhi (NCR) (7)

• Malkajgiri, Telangana is the constituency having a maximum number of electors in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

• Ghaziabad, Uttar Pradesh and Bangalore (North), Karnataka ranks 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup> respectively in terms of the maximum number of electors.

Lakshadweep constituency has the least number of electors. It is followed by Daman and Diu and Ladakh, Jammu and Kashmir which ranks 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup>
Ladakh is the largest Lok Sabha constituency area wise with an area of around 173267 sq. km. Barmer, Rajasthan, and Kachchh ranks 2<sup>nd</sup> and 3<sup>rd</sup>

• Chandani Chowk is the smallest constituency area wise with area of 10 sq. kms

• Indrajit Gupta is the communist leader who elected the maximum number of times (11 times) to Loksabha from West Bengal.

• Atal Bihari Vajpayee is the only leader to be elected from six different Lok Sabha constituencies (Balrampur, Vidisha, Lucknow, Gandhinagar, Gwalior, New Delhi) from four different states (UP, Gujarat, MP, Delhi).

Name of the States/ UTs	Lok Sabha Seats
Andhra Pradesh	25
Arunachal Pradesh	2
Assam	14
Bihar	40
Chhattisgarh	11
Goa	2
Gujarat	26
Haryana	10
Himachal Pradesh	4
Jammu and Kashmir	6 (5- Jammu and Kashmir & 1- Ladakh)









Jharkhand	14
Karnataka	28
Kerala	20
Madhya Pradesh	29
Maharashtra	48
Manipur	2
Meghalaya	2
Mizoram	1
Nagaland	1
Odisha	21
Punjab	13
Rajasthan	25
Sikkim	1
Tamil Nadu	39
Telangana	17
Tripura	2
Uttar Pradesh	80
Uttarakhand	5
West Bengal	42
Andaman and Nicobar	1
Chandigarh	
Dadra and Nagar Haveli	
Daman and Diu	
NCR, Delhi	
Lakshadweep	AANITALE
Puducherry	1

#### **Highest Number of Lok Sabha Seats**

The Constitution of India allows for a maximum of 550 members in the House (it was 500 in 1950). The house currently has 543 seats, which can be filled by up to 543 elected members. Between 1952 and 2020, the President of India nominated two additional members of the Anglo-Indian community on the suggestion of the Government of India, which was abolished in January 2020 by the 104th Constitutional Amendment Act, 2019. Unless dissolved sooner, the Lok Sabha continues to function for five years from the date of its first meeting. However, while an emergency proclamation is in effect, Parliament may extend this term by law or order.

Current the state that acquires maximum seats in the Lok Sabha is Uttar Pradesh with 80 seats in total, where 63 seats are general and 17 seats are designated for SC/ST candidates.

### Lok Sabha Seats in UP









Uttar Pradesh has highest number of Lok Sabha seats in India, currently has 80 seats. There are 63 general seats and 17 designated for SC/ST candidates.

#### Punjab Lok Sabha Seats

Punjab currently has 13 Lok Sabha seats. There are 9 general seats and 4 designated for SC/ST candidates.

#### **Bihar Lok Sabha Seats**

Currently, Bihar has 40 Lok Sabha seats. There are 34 general seats and 6 designated for SC/ST applicants.

# Lok Sabha Seats in West Bengal

West Bengal has third highest seats in Lok Sabha. Currently, West Bengal has 42 Lok Sabha seats. There are 30 general seats and 12 earmarked for SC/ST candidates.









# **Buy Test Series**

# Unlock All 650+ Mock Tests for SSC & Railway

- Unlimited Access
- All Exams covered
- Designed by Experts
- Performance Analysis

https://byjusexamprep.com