

# Schedules of Constitution of India

#### First Schedule

- 1. First Schedule consists of:
  - 1. It covers names of the States and their territorial jurisdiction
  - 2. Names of the Union Territories and their extent.
- 2. Article 1 of India's Constitution declares India/Bharat a Union of States.
- 3. Currently, there are **28 states and 8 Union territories**

# Second Schedule

Provisions relating to the emoluments, allowances, privileges of:

- The President of India
- Governors of States
- Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the Lower House(Lok Sabha)
- Chairman and the Deputy Chairman of the Upper House(Rajya Sabha)
- It consists of the Speaker and the Deputy Speaker of the Legislative Assemblies of states.
- Chairman and the De Chairman of the Legislative Council of a State
- It consists of Judges of the Supreme Court of India and of the High Courts
- list of states and union territories and their territories

#### Third Schedule

#### This Schedule contains the Forms of Oaths or Affirmations of:

- 1.The Union ministers
- 2. The candidates for election to the Parliament
- 3. The members of Parliament
- 4. The Judges of the Supreme Court of India and High Court
- 5. The Comptroller and auditor general.
- 6. The state ministers
- 7. All candidates for election to the state legislature
- 8. All members of the state legislature

# Fourth Schedule

# Allocation of seats in Rajya Sabha to the States & Union territories.

1 | Page

लक्ष्य A Foundation Course for All Defence Exams



States and their share of seats in Rajya Sabha.

State and Union Territory	Seats
Andhra Pradesh	11
Arunachal Pradesh	1
Assam	7
Bihar	16
Chhattisgarh	5
Goa	1
Gujrat	11
Haryana	5
Himachal Pradesh	3
Jammu and Kashmir	4
Jharkhand	6
Karnataka	12
Kerala	9
Madhya Pradesh	11
Maharashtra	19
Manipur	1
Meghalaya	1
Mizoram	1
Nagaland	1
NCT Delhi	3
Odisha	10
Puducherry	1
Punjab	7
Rajasthan	10
Sikkim	1
Tamilnadu	18
Telangana	7
Tripura	1
Uttar Pradesh	31
Uttrakhand	3





West Bengal	16
Nominee by President	12
Total	245

#### Fifth Schedule

This Schedule contains provisions for the Administration and Control of Scheduled Areas and Scheduled Tribes.

At present, 10 **States** namely Andhra Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Rajasthan and Telangana have **Fifth Schedule** Areas.

# Sixth Schedule

It consists of provisions relating to the administration of tribal areas in the states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, Manipur.

#### Seventh Schedule

This Schedule contains the Union list, State list and the concurrent list.

**Union list** is the largest among all, containing **98 items** including Defence of India, Naval military and air forces; any other armed forces of the Union, Delimitation of cantonment areas, local self-government, Atomic energy and mineral resources necessary for its production, etc.

**State list contains 59 items** including Public order but not including the use of any naval, military or air force or any other armed force of the union, Police, Officers and servants of the High Court, Prisons, reformatories, Borstal institutions, Local government, Public health and sanitation, hospitals and dispensaries, etc.

**Concurrent list contains 52 items** including Marriage and divorce, Transfer of property other than agricultural land, Bankruptcy and insolvency, Trust and Trustees, Evidence and oaths, recognition of laws, public acts and records, and judicial proceedings, Civil procedure, Contempt of court, but not including Contempt of the Supreme Court, etc.

# Eighth Schedule

- It contains the list of recognized languages
- There are a total of **22 recognized languages** by the Indian Constitution
- (Hindi, Bengali, Gujrati, Marathi, Kannad, Kashmiri, Manipuri, Malayalam, Kokani, Malyali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Sindi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu, Santhali, Bodo, Maithili, Dorgi, Assamese)

3 | Page







- Sindhi was added in 21st constitutional amendment act 1967
- Konkani, Manipuri and Nepali were added by 71st Constitutional Amendment Act,1992
- Bodo, Dogri, Maithili and Santali were added in 2003 by 92nd Constitutional Amendment Act

#### Ninth Schedule

- Acts and Regulations (originally covered under article 13 but presently article 282) of the state legislatures dealing with land reforms and the abolition of the zamindari system and of the Parliament dealing with other matters
- This Schedule contains provisions as to the validation of certain Acts and Regulations.
- It was added by the **1st Amendment (1951**) to protect the laws included in it from judicial scrutiny on the ground of violation of fundamental rights.
- In 2007, the Supreme Court of India ruled that the laws included in this Schedule after April 24, 1973, are now open to judicial review.

# Tenth Schedule

This Schedule was added by **52 Constitution amendment act in 1985**. It contains provisions as to disqualification on ground of defection.

# **Disqualification Grounds**

It comes into force when a member of a house belonging to a political party:

- If he Voluntarily gives up the membership of his political party
- He goes against directions of his political party and votes against or abstains from voting in the legislature. Then he is eligible for disqualification proceedings. However, if the member has taken permission in advance, or is condoned by the party within 15 days from such voting or abstention, the member shall not be disqualified.
- In case any independent candidate joins any political party after winning the elections.
- If a nominated member joins a party after six months of becoming the member of the legislature.

# Exception

If a party to merge with or into another party provided that at *least two-thirds* of its elected members are in favour of the merger.

# The eleventh Schedule

It was inserted into the Indian Constitution by the *73rd Constitution Amendment Act*.





It Contains the powers, authority and responsibilities of Panchayats.

**This Schedule contains 29 items**. On which Panchayat has powers including Agriculture, including agricultural extension, Land improvement, implementation of land reforms, land consolidation and soil conservation, etc.

# Twelfth Schedule

- It was added to the Constitution by the 74th Amendment Act of 1992.
- It Specifies the powers, authority and responsibilities of Municipalities, etc.
- It has a total of 18 matters.