

Important Scientific Research Institutions

Important Scientific Research Institutions in Madhya Pradesh

1. Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology

- Established- 19 February 1984
- Director- Devashish Das
- Headquarters- Indore, Madhya Pradesh
- Objective-
 - The institute is engaged in R&D in non-nuclear front-line research areas of lasers, particle accelerators and related technologies.

2. Defence Research and Development Establishment

- Established- 1973
- Director- Dr Devendra Kumar Dubey
- Headquarters- Gwalior
- Objective-
 - The centre is primarily involved in the research and development of detection and protection against toxic chemical and biological agents.

Important Scientific Research Institutions in India

1. Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO)

- Established- 15 August 1969
- Founded by- Vikram Sarabhai
- Chairman- K. Sivan
- Headquarters- Bengaluru
- Major Achievements-
 - Chandrayan-3 is expected to launch in 2021 and is a successor to the Chandrayan-2 mission.
 - India's first human spaceflight mission, Gaganyaan is expected to launch in the year 2021.
 - o India's first solar mission, Aditya-L1 is expected to be launched in 2022.

2. Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)

- Established- 26 September 1942
- Head- Shekhar C. Mande
- Headquarters- New Delhi







- Objective-
 - The work spectrum of CSIR covers radio, space physics, oceanography, geophysics, chemicals, drugs, genomics, biotechnology etc.
 - CSIR also provides significant technological intervention in many areas with regard to societal efforts which include environment, health, drinking water, food, housing, energy, farm and non-farm sectors.

3. Defence Research and Development Organization (DRDO)

- Established- 1958
- Head- Dr G. Satheesh Reddy
- · Headquarters- New Delhi
- Objective
 - DRDO is the R&D wing of the Ministry of Defence, with a vision to empower India with cutting-edge defence technologies and a mission to achieve self-reliance in critical defence technologies and systems.
 - DRDO has developed various strategic systems and platforms such as Agni and Prithvi series of missiles, Tejas (light combat aircraft), Pinaka (multi-barrel rocket launcher), wide range of radars and electronic warfare systems; etc.

4. Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR)

- Established- 1911
- Head- Balram Bhargava
- Headquarters- New Delhi
- Objective-
 - At national level, it is the apex body for the formulation, coordination and promotion of biomedical research, is one of the oldest medical research bodies in the world.

5. Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC)

- Established- January 1954
- Founded by- Homi Jahangir Bhabha
- Chairman- Dr. Ajit Kumar Mohanty
- · Headquarters- Mumbai
- Objective-
 - BARC is a multi-disciplinary research centre to carry out advanced research programmes in nuclear science, engineering and related areas.







6. Indian Council of Agricultural Research (ICAR)

- Established- 16 July 1929
- Director: Trilochan Mohapatra
- President- Narendra Singh Tomar (Minister of Agriculture)
- Headquarters- New Delhi
- Objective-
 - It is the apex body for coordinating, guiding and managing research and education in agriculture including horticulture, fisheries and animal sciences in the entire country.

7. National Innovation Foundation (NIF)

- Established- March 2000
- Chairperson- Dr. P. S. Goel
- Headquarters-
- Objective
 - o NIF is India's national initiative to strengthen the grassroots technological innovations and outstanding traditional knowledge.
 - Its mission is to help India become a creative and knowledge-based society by expanding policy and institutional space for grassroots technological innovators.

8. National Research Development Corporation (NRDC)

- Established- 1953
- Head- Dr. Vipin Chandra
- Headquarters- New Delhi
- Objectives-
 - The institute has to promote, develop and commercialise the technologies / know-how / inventions / patents / processes emanating from various national R&D institutions / Universities.
 - It is presently working under the administrative control of the Dept. of Scientific & Industrial Research, Ministry of Science & Technology.

9. National Institute of Biomedical Genomics (NIBMG)

- Established- 23 February 2009
- Head- Dr. Saumitra Das
- Headquarters- Kalyani, West Bengal
- Objectives-







o It is the first institution in India explicitly devoted to research, training, translation & service and capacity-building in Biomedical Genomics.

10. National Academy of Sciences, India

- Established- 1930
- Founded by- Prof. Meghnad Saha
- Head- G. Padmanaban
- Headquarters- Prayagraj

11. Tata Institute of Fundamental Research

- Established- 1945
- Director- Prof. S Ramakrishnan
- Main campus- Mumbai
- Objective-
 - The institution is carrying out basic research in physics, chemistry, biology, mathematics, computer science and science education.

12. Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research

- Established- 1971
- Director- A. K. Bhaduri
- Headquarters- Kalpakkam, Tamil Nadu
- Objective-
 - The centre is engaged in a broad-based multidisciplinary programme of scientific research and advanced engineering directed towards the development of Fast Breeder Reactor technology.



