

THE PREAMBLE

- 1. The term 'preamble' refers to the introduction or preface to the Constitution. It's a kind of summary or essence of the Constitution.
- 2. The American Constitution was the first, to begin with, a preamble.
- 3. N.A Palkiwala has termed preamble as 'the identity card of the constitution'.
- 4. The Preamble is somewhat **based on the 'Objectives Resolution'** moved by Nehru in the Constituent Assembly.
- 5. The Preamble has been amended only once so far, that is by **42nd Amendment Act of 1976.** Three words were added by that amendment **SOCIALIST, SECULAR, INTEGRITY**.
- 6. The Preamble reveals four ingredients or components:
- 7. Source of the authority of the Constitution: The Preamble states that the Constitution derives its authority from the people of India.
- 8. Nature of Indian State: It declares India as a sovereign, socialist, secular democratic and republican polity.
- 9. Objectives of the Constitution: To provide justice, liberty, equality and fraternity to the citizens of India.
- 10. Date of adoption of the Constitution: 26th November 1949.
- 11. In *Berubari Union* case (1960) the Supreme Court said that the Preamble isn't a part of the Constitution.
- 12. In **Kesavananda Bharati** case (1973) the Supreme Court rejected the earlier opinion and held that Preamble *is* a part of the Constitution.
- 13. The Preamble is neither a source of power to legislature nor a prohibition upon the powers of the legislature. Provisions in the preamble are non-enforceable in the court of law, that is, it's **non-justiciable**.

THE UNION & ITS TERRITORY

- 1. Articles 1 to 4 under Part-I of the Constitution deal with the Union and its territory.
- Article 1 declares India, that is, Bharat as a 'Union of States'.
- 3. Article 2 empowers the Parliament to 'admit into the Union of India, or establish, new states on such terms and conditions as it thinks fit'. Thus, Article 2 grants two powers to the Parliament: (a) the power to admit into the Union of India new states; and (b) the power to establish new states.
- 4. **Article 3** relates to the **formation of or changes in the existing states** of the Union of India. In other words, Article 3 deals with the internal re-adjustment *inter* se of the territories of the constituent states of the Union of India.
- 5. Some committees that were important in the reorganization of states in the Indian Union Dhar Commission, JVP Committee, Fazl Ali Commission and States Reorganization Commission (1st one was in 1956).
- 6. New states that were created after 1956 with year Maharashtra and Gujarat In 1960, Goa, Daman and Diu India acquired these three territories from the Portuguese by means of a police action in 1961. They were constituted as a union territory by the 12th Constitutional Amendment Act, 1962. Later, in 1987,







Goa was conferred a statehood, **Nagaland** In 1963, **Haryana, Chandigarh and Himachal Pradesh** In 1966, **Manipur, Tripura and Meghalaya** In 1972, Sikkim in 1974-75, **Mizoram, Arunachal Pradesh and Goa** In 1987, **Chhattisgarh, Uttarakhand and Jharkhand** In 2000, and now most recently Telangana on 2nd June, 2014.

THE CITIZENSHIP

- 1. Part 2nd covers articles 5-11.
- 2. The Constitution confers the following rights and privileges on the citizens of India (and denies the same to aliens):
- Rights conferred under Articles 15, 16, 19, 29 & 30.
- Right to vote in elections to the Lok Sabha and state legislative assembly.
- Right to contest for the membership of the Parliament and the state legislature.
- Eligibility to hold certain public offices, that is, President of India, Vice-President of India, judges of the Supreme Court and the high courts, governor of states, attorney general of India and advocate general of states.
- 3. Articles 5-8 only deal with the citizenship of individuals who became citizens of India at the commencement of the Constitution. Also, these articles take into account migration issues.
- 4. No person shall be a citizen of India or be deemed to be a citizen of India if he has voluntarily acquired the citizenship of any foreign state (Article 9).
- 5. Every person who is or is deemed to be a citizen of India shall continue to be such citizen, subject to the provisions of any law made by Parliament (Article 10).
- 6. Parliament shall have the power to make any provision with respect to the acquisition and termination of citizenship and all other matters relating to citizenship (Article 11).
- 7. Hence, the Parliament enacted the Citizenship Act, 1955, which has been amended in 1986, 1992, 2003, and 2005 and most recently in 2015. The amendment bill 2016 is still pending though.
- 8. The five modes of acquisition of citizenship as per the citizenship act are
 (a) By Birth
 - (b) By Descent (c) By Registration
 - (d) By Naturalization
 - (e) By acquisition of any other territory into the Indian Union.
- 9. Loss of Citizenship is by Termination, Renunciation and Deprivation.
- 10. India provides for single citizenship.
- 11. **PIO-** A person registered as PIO card holder under the Ministry of Home Affairs' scheme dated 19-08-2002.
- 12. **OCI-** A person registered as Overseas Citizen of India (OCI) under the Citizenship Act, 1955. The OCI scheme is operational from 02-12-2005.
- 13. Now both the schemes have been merged with effect from 9th January 2015.











