

## **Chronology of Maharashtra History**

Chronology is the use of a timeline or sequence of events that unfolded in the past. Chronology is a part of periodization that helps determine the actual temporal sequence of past events, including earth history, the earth sciences, and the geologic time scale study. As part of chronology, dates are important as they depict when a specific event was held and helps examine the relationship between the past events.

## **Timeline of Maharashtra**

Dates	Events
600 BC	One of the 16 great janapadas, named as 'Ashmaka'.
230 BC to 225 AD	Ruled by the Satvahanas
250 to 525 AD	The Vakatakas brought Vidharba under their rule.
550 to 760 AD	Ruled by the Chalukyas (Badami Chalukyas)
640 AD	Chinese pilgrim Xuanzang visited Maharashtra
973 AD	Rashtrakutas rule comes to an end
973 to 1180 AD	Ruled by the Chalukyas (Western Chalukyas or Kalyani Chalukyas)
1189 to 1310 AD	Ruled by the Yadavas of Deogiri (Seunas)
1296 AD	Alla-ud-din Khilji, the first Muslim sulath of the north penetrates the Deccan,
	defeats the Yadavas and carried away a huge loot.
1534 AD	Portuguese occupy Mumbai
1659 AD	Shivaji captures Satara from Sultanate of Bijapur, leads revolt against the
	Mughal empire.
1661 AD	Mumbai transferred from Portugal to Britain
1668 AD	British government transfers Mumbai to British East India Company
1674 AD	Shivaji became first King of the Marathas
1680 AD	Shivaji dies
1689 AD	Sambhaji dies
1707 AD	Shahu I become Chhatrapati of the Maratha Empire
1720 AD	Bajirao I becomes Peshwa (Prime Minister)
1740 AD	Death of Bajirao I
1756 AD	Marathas capture the town of Attock (now in north-west Pakistan).
	Maratha empire reaches its largest extent.
14 January 1761	Maratha are defeated at Third Battle of Panipat
1775–1782	First Anglo-Maratha War
1803–1805	Second Anglo-Maratha War
1817–1818	Third Anglo-Maratha War
3 June 1818	Peshwa Bajirao II surrenders to the British
15 August 1947	India becomes independent
1 November 1956	Bombay state enlarged to include all of present Maharashtra.
1 May 1960	Bombay state split along linguistic lines into new states of Gujarat and
	Maharashtra.



