

National Sports Awards 2019

National Sports Awards are given every year to **recognize** and reward excellence in sports. In this article, we are sharing the **National Sports Awards 2019 winners list**.

- Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years.
- Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for four years.
- **Dronacharya Award** for coaches is given for producing medal winners at **prestigious International sports events**.
- **Dhyan Chand Award** for lifetime contribution to sports development.
- Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar are given to the corporate entities (both in the private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development.

Important Points You Should Know

- Apart from a medal and a citation, **Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardee** will receive a cash prize of **Rs. 7.5 lakh**.
- Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and a cash prize of **Rs. 5 lakh** each.
- A trophy and citation are given to the entity in the **Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar**, 2019.
- Recipients of Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar will be given **Trophies** and certificates.
- Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments will be given **MAKA Trophy**, award money of **Rs. 10 lakh** and certificate.

Note: The awardees will **receive their awards** from the **President of India** at a specially organized function at the Rashtrapati Bhawan on **29**th **August 2019**.

National Awards:

Awarded **every year** to recognize and reward excellence in sports by **Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports**. These awards include the following:

(i) Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

- First time awarded in 1991-92.
- **The highest honour** in sports given for spectacular and most outstanding performance for four years.
- The award includes a medal, a certificate, and a cash prize of 7.5 lakh Rupees.
- The first recipient was Viswanathan Anand (chess player).
- Abhinav Bindra is the youngest recipient of the award.

(ii) Dronacharya Awards





- First time awarded in 1985.
- Sports coaching honour given for producing medal winners at prestigious International sports events.
- First recipients of the award were-
 - (1) Bhalachandra Bhaskar Bhagwat (Wrestling)
 - (2) Om Prakash Bhardwaj (Boxing)
 - (3) O. M. Nambiar (Athletics)
- The award includes a bronze statuette of Dronacharya, a certificate, and a cash prize of 5 lakh Rupees.

(iii) Arjun Awards

- First time awarded in 1961.
- Given for consistently outstanding performance for four years.
- The award includes a bronze statuette of Arjuna, a certificate, and a cash prize of 5
- According to government guidelines, 2001, only the following categories person can get Arjuna Award-
 - (a) Olympic Games / Asian Games / Commonwealth Games / World Cup / World Championship Disciplines and Cricket Indigenous Games
 - (b) Sports for the Physically Challenged
- The first cricketer who received Arjuna Award- Salim Durrani

(iv) Dhyan Chand Awards

- First time awarded in 2002.
- Given for lifetime contribution to sports development.
- First recipients of the award were-
 - (a) Shahuraj Birajdar (Boxing)
 - (b) Ashok Diwan (Hockey)
 - (c) Aparna Ghosh (Basketball)
- The award includes a statuette, a certificate, and a cash prize of 5 lakh Rupees.

National Sports Awards 2019: List of Winners

1. Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna 2019





Bajrang Punia:

- Punia was born in Khudan village of Jhajjar district in the state of Haryana, India.
- In 2017 May, he won a gold medal at the Asian Wrestling Championship held at Delhi.
- He won the gold medal in the men's freestyle 65 kg category in Gold Coast, Australia
- He got Arjuna Award (in 2015) and Padma Shri Award (in 2019).
- Currently, he works in Indian Railways on the post of TTE (Travelling Ticket Examiner).

Ms. Deepa Malik:

- Deepa Malik was born in Bhaiswal of Panipat District in the state of Haryana, India.
- Indian athlete **Deepa Malik** (48-years) is the first Indian woman to win a medal in Paralympic Games and won a Silver medal at the 2016 Summer Paralympics in the shot put.
- She has also won gold in **F-53/54 Javelin** event at the para athletic Grand Prix held in Dubai in 2018.
- Currently, she is the world number one in the F-53 category.
- Malik is the wife of Colonel **Bikram Singh** and daughter of Colonel BK Nagpal.

S.No.	Name of the Sportsperson	Discipline
1.	Sh. Bajrang Punia	Wrestling
2.	Ms. Deepa Malik	Para Athletics

2. Dronacharya Awards 2019





Regular Category

S.No.	Name of the Coach	Discipline
1.	Sh. Vimal Kumar	Badminton
2.	Sh. Sandeep Gupta	Table tennis
3.	Sh. Mohinder Singh Dhillon	Athletics

Life-Time Category

S.No.	Name of the Coach	Discipline
1.	Sh. Merzban Patel	Hockey
2.	Sh. Rambir Singh Khokhar	Kabaddi
3.	Sh. Sanjay Bhardwaj	Cricket

3. Arjuna Awards 2019

S.No.	Name of the Sportsperson	Discipline
1.	Sh. Tajinderpal Singh Toor	Athletics
2.	Mohammed Anas Yahiya	Athletics
3.	Sh. S. Bhaskaran	Body Building
4.	Ms. Sonia Lather	Boxing
5.	Sh. Ravindra Jadeja	Cricket
6.	Sh. Chinglensana Singh Kangujam	Hockey
7.	Sh. Ajay Thakur	Kabaddi
8.	Sh. Gaurav Singh Gill	Motor Sports
9.	Sh. Pramod Bhagat	Para Sports (Badminton)
10.	Ms. Anjum Moudgil	Shooting
11.	Sh. Harmeet Rajul Desai	Table Tennis
12.	Ms. Pooja Dhanda	Wrestling
13.	Sh. Fouaad Mirza	Equestrian
14.	Sh. Gurpreet Singh Sandhu	Football
15.	Ms. Poonam Yadav	Cricket
16.	Ms. Swapna Barman	Athletics
17.	Sh. Sundar Singh Gurjar	Para Sports (Athletics)
18.	Sh. Bhamidipati Sai Praneeth	Badminton
19.	Sh. Simran Singh Shergill	Polo

4. Dhyan Chand Award 2019





S.No.	Name	Discipline
1.	Sh. Manuel Fredricks	Hockey
2.	Sh. Arup Basak	Table Tennis
3.	Sh. Manoj Kumar	Wrestling
4.	Sh. NittenKirrtane	Tennis
5.	Sh. C. Lalremsanga	Archery

5. Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar 2019

S. No.	Category	Entity recommended for Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar, 2019
1.	Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent'	(i) Gagan Narang Sports Promotion Foundation (ii) GoSports Foundation
2.	Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility	
3.	'Employment to sportspersons and other welfare measures'	
4.	Sports for Development	Rayalaseema Development Trust

6. Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2019

- Panjab University, Chandigarh.
- Overall top performing university in inter-university tournaments is given MaulanaAbulKalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy.

