List of Nuclear Power Plants & Thermal Power Plants

By Brajendra|Updated : October 15th, 2020

A nuclear power plant (sometimes abbreviated as NPP) is a thermal power station in which the heat source is a nuclear reactor. As is typical of thermal power stations, heat is used to generate steam that drives a steam turbine connected to a generator that produces electricity.

Nuclear & Thermal power plants

Nuclear power is obtained from energy stored in the nuclei of atoms of naturally occurring radioactive elements like uranium and thorium. These fuels undergo nuclear fission in nuclear reactors and emit power. The greatest producers of nuclear power are the USA and Europe. In India, Rajasthan and Jharkhand have large deposits of Uranium.

Tarapur Atomic Power Plant-1 (TAPS-1) was the first Nuclear power plant in India.

Thermal electricity is generated by using coal, petroleum and natural gas. The thermal power stations use non-renewable fossil fuels for generating electricity. There are over 310 thermal power plants in India.

The major hazard of nuclear power generation is the storage and disposal of spent or used fuels – the uranium still decaying into harmful subatomic particles (radiations). Improper nuclear-waste storage and disposal result in environmental contamination.

State-wise list of Thermal Power Stations & Nuclear Power Plants

SL No.States Thermal Power Station
1Andhra Pradesh

(i) Simhadri Online Classroom Program Thermal Power Plant

(ii) Sri Damodaram Sanjeevaiah Thermal Power Station

2Assam (i) Bongaigaon Thermal Power Plant
3Arunachal Pradesh (i) Kharsang Thermal Power Plant
4Bihar (i) Barauni Thermal Power Station

(ii) Kahalgaon Online Classroom Program Thermal Power Station

5Chhattisgarh (i) Korba Online Classroom Program Thermal Power Plant

(ii) Sipat Thermal Power Plant

(iii) Bhilai Expansion Power Plant

(iv) Hasdeo Thermal Power Station

6Gujarat (i) Mundra (TPP)

(ii) Ukai Thermal Power Station

(iii) Sikka Thermal Power Station

(iv)Kakrapar Nuclear Power Plant

(v) Akrimota Thermal Power Station

8Haryana (i) Deenbandhu Chhotu Ram Thermal Power Station

(ii) Rajiv Gandhi Thermal Power Station

9Himachal Pradesh (i) Girinagar Hydel Project

(ii) Binwa Hydel Project

(iii) Rangtong Hydel Project

(iv) Baner and Neugal Project

10Jharkhand (i) Patratu Thermal Power Station

(ii) Bokaro Thermal Power Station

(iii) Chandrapura Thermal Power Station

(iv) Koderma Thermal Power Station

12Karnataka (i) Udupi Thermal Power Plant

(ii) Bellary Thermal Power station

(iii) Raichur Thermal Power Station

13Kerala (i) Brahmapuram Power Station

(ii) Kayamkulam Power Station

14Madhya Pradesh (i) Vindhyachal Online Classroom Program Thermal Power Station

(ii) Sant Singaji (TPP)

(iii) Satpura Thermal Power Station

(iv) Amarkantak Thermal Power Station

(v) Sasan Ultra Mega Power Project

15Maharashtra (i) Tirora (TPP)

(ii) Amravati (TPP)

(iii) Chandrapur Online Classroom Program (TPP)

(iv) Khaperkheda Thermal Power Station

16Meghalaya(i) Nongkhyllem Power House (Stage-iv)


20Odisha (i) Talcher Online Classroom Program Thermal Power Station

(ii) Hirakud Captive Power Plant



Punjab (i) Guru Gobind Singh Online Classroom Program Thermal Power Plant
22Rajasthan (i) Chhabra (TPP)

(ii) Suratgarh Power Station

23Sikkim (i) Rangit Hydro Electric Power Project
24Tamil Nadu (i) Mettur Theral Power Station

(ii) Neyveli Thermal

(iii) Tuticorin Thermal Power Station


 (i) KakatiyaThermal Power plant

(ii) Kothagudem Thermal Power Plant

(iii) Ramagundam Thermal Poer Plant

(iv) Singareni Thermal Poer Plant

(v) Bhadradri Thermal Poer Plant

26Tripura (i) Palatana Thermal Power Plant
27Uttar Pradesh (i) Rihand Thermal Power Station

(ii) Singrauli Online Classroom Program Thermal Power Station

(iii) Anpara Thermal Power Station

(iv) Obra Thermal Power Station

(v) Rosa (TPS)

(vi) Panki (TPS)

28Uttarakhand (i) Chibro Power Plant

(ii) Khodri Power Plant

(iii) Chilla Power Plant

29West Bengal  (i) Durgapur Thermal Power Station

List of Nuclear Power Plants in India 2020



Nuclear Power Station



(i) Kakrapar Nuclear power station



(i) Gorakhpur Atomic Power Station



(i) Kaiga Nuclear power station



(i) Tarapur Atomic power station

(ii) Jaitapur Nuclear Power Project


Tamil Nadu

(i) Kundakulam Nuclear Power Plant


Uttar Pradesh

(i) Narora Atomic Power Station

To boost the preparation of all our users, we have come up with some free video (Live Class) series.

Here are the links

राजस्थान राज्य परीक्षाओं के लिए करंट अफेयर्स

राजस्थान राज्य परीक्षाओं के लिए 2000 सबसे महत्वपूर्ण प्रश्न

More from us 

Get Unlimited access to 25+ Mock Tests-BYJU'S Exam Prep Test Series

Free Study Notes (Hindi/English)

Monthly Current Affairs Quiz

NCERT Books PDF (Hindi/English)



write a comment

Follow us for latest updates