IIT Kharagpur Post Graduate Programmes & Eligibility

By Ashish Singh Dhanjal|Updated : March 31st, 2020

Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur invites applications for the Joint Masters and Ph.D programme in Engineering and City Planning for the admission year 2020-2021. This programme is designed to encourage bright candidates to enroll themselves for Ph.D after completion of first year of M.Tech/MCP programme. The programme is open to students of all categories with a Bachelor’s degree in Engineering/Technology/Architecture/ M.Sc or equivalent professional degrees (AMIE etc.) and having a valid GATE score. Seats are reserved for OBC/SC/ST candidates and Persons with Disability (PwD) as per Government of India rules.


IIT Kharagpur Departments and Programmes

  • Department of Aerospace Engineering
  • Department of Agricultural and Food Engineering
    • Farm Machinery and Power
    • Land and Water Resource Engineering
    • Food Processing Engineering
    • Agricultural Biotechnology
    • Aquacultural Engineering
    • Agricultural Systems and Management
  • Department of Architecture and Regional Planning
    • City Planning
  • Department of Biotechnology
    • Biotechnology and Biochemical Engineering
  • Department of Chemical Engineering
    • Chemical Engineering
  • Department of Civil Engineering
    • Hydraulic and Water Resources Engineering CE2
    • Transportation Engineering CE3
    • Environmental Engineering and Management CE4
    • Geotechnical Engineering CE5
    • Structural Engineering RR Railway Engineering
  • Department of Computer Science and Engineering
    • Computer Science and Engineering
  • Department of Electrical Engineering
    • Machine Drives and Power Electronics (MDPE) 
    • Control System Engineering (CSE) 
    • Power and Energy Systems (PES) 
    • Instrumentation and Signal Processing (ISP)
  • Department of Electronics and Electrical Communication Engineering
    • Micro Electronics and VLSI Design 
    • RF and Microwave Engineering 
    • Telecommunication Systems Engineering 
    • Visual Information and Embedded Systems Engineering
  • Department of Geology and Geophysics 
    • Exploration Geosciences
  • Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering
    • Industrial Engineering and Management
  • Department of Mathematics
    • Computer Science and Data Processing
  • Department of Mechanical Engineering
    • Manufacturing Science and Engineering 
    • Thermal Science and Engineering 
    • Mechanical Systems Design
  • Department of Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
    • Metallurgical and Materials Engineering
  • Department of Mining Engineering
    • Mining Engineering
  • Department of Ocean Engineering and Naval Architecture
    • Ocean Engineering and Naval Architecture
  • Department of Physics 
    • Solid State Technology
  • Advanced Technology Development Centre
    • Embedded Controls and Software
  • Centre for Educational Technology
    • Multimedia Information Processing
  • Centre for Oceans, Rivers, Atmosphere and Land Sciences
    • Earth System Science and Technology
  • Cryogenic Engineering Centre
    • Cryogenic Engineering
  • Materials Science Centre
    • Materials Science and Engineering
  • Subir Chowdhury School of Quality and Reliability
    • Reliability Engineering
  • Rubber Technology Centre
    • Rubber Technology
  • G. S. Sanyal School of Telecommunications
    • Wireless Communications and Networks
  • Ranbir and Chitra Gupta School of Infrastructure Design and Management
    • Infrastructure Design and Management
  • School of Energy Science & Engineering
    • Energy Engineering
  • School of Medical Science and Technology
    • Medical Imaging and Informatics
  • School of Water Resources
    • Water Engineering and Management

Educational Qualification

  • B.E./B.Tech/B.Arch or Masters degree in Science/Arts or qualifications obtained through examinations conducted by professional societies recognized by UPSC/AICTE, e.g. AMIE.
  • Applicants must qualify in GATE paper or NET qualified applicants are also eligible for admission to MCP.  
  • Candidates seeking admission to Joint M.Tech/MCP-Ph.D Programme of the Institute should have the following academic qualification:
    • GE/OBC: Minimum of 60% marks (OR a CGPA of 6.5 on a 10 point scale)
    • SC/ST/PWD: Minimum of 55% marks (OR a CGPA of 6.0 on a 10 point scale) 
    • For both the above cases, If the CGPA is on a different scale than 10.0, the eligibility of the candidates will be calculated corresponding to the equivalence stated above.
  • Candidates whose result is awaited (final year), marks sheet/certificate as evidence of passing the qualifying examination to be submitted latest by October 31, 2020.
  • NET Qualified candidates with fellowship having M.A or M.Sc Degree in Economics, Sociology, or Geography and having studied mathematics/statistics at the higher secondary level or at the graduate level are eligible to be considered for selection to MCP/Ph.D. Programme.
    • For applicant with Master Degree in Science subject should have 60% or above (55% marks or equivalent CGPA for Master's degree holders in Arts or Social Science subjects)

Important Note:

  • The admission will be based on either GATE Score only or on GATE Score (70 % weightage) and a personal interview (30 % weightage).
  • The personal interview will be conducted to test the following:
    • Motivation and aptitude for the Programme
    • Suitability for the department/centre
    • Skills in basic science, engineering, and relevant areas.
  • The personal interview will be conducted at IIT Kharagpur. 


The Most Comprehensive Exam Prep App.


write a comment



Follow us for latest updates