How Many Years did British Ruled India?

By Ritika Pant|Updated : July 20th, 2022

Approximately 89 years is the total years of British rule in India. British domination, also known as colonialism, started in India after the battle of Plassey in 1757. British East India Company was ruling India before the crown rule. This British Company was established in 1600, with the main aim to concentrate on trading spices from East Indies (India).

The country also had a presence in European colonies, i.e., Portuguese, Dutch, French, and Danish. The British Raj is called the rule of the British Crown on the Indian subcontinent, also regarded as a crown rule in India or direct rule in India. The British ruled India from 1858 until the independence of India and Pakistan in 1947.

Number of Years British Ruled India

British East India Company designated its first port in Surat and gradually developed well-settled colonies in states like Machlipatnam (Mausilipatnam), Surat, Bombay, and Madras, during the 17th century. The company gained authority over other areas and held control over India after the decline of the Mughals around the 1750s.

The raj was planned to increase Indian participation in governance, but the powerlessness of Indians to determine their own future without the authorization of the British led to an increasingly stubborn national independence movement.

Related Questions:-


write a comment

FAQs on How Many Years did British Ruled India?

  • British ruled India for around 89 years. The province under British control was commonly called India in contemporary use and contained areas directly administered by the United Kingdom, collectively called British India. The regions ruled by native rulers but under British dominance were called the princely states.

  • British raj or the British rule was the period of direct rule of the British over the Indian subcontinent. It was started in 1858 and continued until the independence of India and Pakistan in 1947.

Follow us for latest updates