How many types of monsoon are there in India?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 2nd, 2022

There are two types of monsoon In India, namely, the southwest monsoon and the northeast monsoon. The Southwest Monsoon Season, sometimes referred to as the Rainy Season, lasts from June through September. Northeast India is where the Northeast Monsoon enters.

Types of Monsoon in India

The southwest monsoon:

  • This southwest monsoon is caused by an intense low-pressure system that develops over the Tibetan Plateau due to the region's extreme summer temperatures.
  • They transport much moisture with them when they cross the warm equatorial currents.
  • The rain begins to fall when these winds hit or impact the mountain barriers.
  • After crossing the equator, these southeast trade winds move over the Arabian Sea and the Bay of Bengal before being snagged by the airflow over India.
  • They go southwestward after passing the equator.
  • The southwest monsoon is named as a result.
  • The monsoon season's winds bring heavy rains to the region.

The northeast monsoon

  • In this monsoon type, the wind blows from the sea to the land.
  • Monsoon winds carry moisture from the Indian Ocean.
  • The Northeast Monsoon affects only South India; from October to December, it rains in Tamil Nadu, Puducherry, Karaikal, Yanam, Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, Mahe, and south interior Karnataka.
  • Also known as accompanying rains, low-pressure systems, depressions and cyclones cause the winter monsoon.
  • Tamil Nadu experiences 48% (447.4 mm) of its annual rainfall during these three months, making it the state's primary rainy season.


How many types of monsoon are there in India?

Two types of monsoon in India are southwest and northeast monsoon. The seasonal reversal in the wind direction during a year is called the monsoon. It is derived from the Arabic word 'Mausim' which means season.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates