How Many Times was the Citizenship Act 1955 Amended?

Six amendments to the Citizenship Act of 1955 were made in 1986, 1992, 2003, 2005, 2015, and 2019. The Hindu, Sikh, Buddhist, Christian, Parsi, and Jain communities, which are all illegal immigrants from Bangladesh, Pakistan, and Afghanistan, are the target of the Citizenship Amendment Act, 2019, which aims to grant them Indian citizenship.

Number of Amendments in Citizenship Act 1955

The Citizenship Act of 1955 establishes guidelines for obtaining and determining Indian citizenship. This act, which was passed in 1955, also makes it possible for those who were once citizens of India but are currently citizens of another nation to apply for an Overseas Citizen of India Card. Indian citizenship can be obtained in five different ways: through birth, descent, registration, naturalization (long-term residency in India), and incorporation of a foreign territory.

Six amendments have been made to the Citizenship Act 1955. According to the 1986 amendment, at least one parent is required to be an Indian citizen at the time of birth for a person to qualify as an Indian citizen. A person born outside of India on or after January 26, 1950, but before December 10, 1992, shall be a citizen of India by ancestry if his father is an Indian citizen at the time of his birth, according to the 1992 amendment.

The 2003 amendment authorized the creation of a National Register of Citizens (NRC) and created the concept of "illegal immigrants". OCIs and PIOs were effectively superseded and combined into the idea of an "Overseas Citizen of India Cardholder" (an "OCC") by the 2015 amendment. Hindus, Sikhs, Buddhists, Jains, Parsis, Buddhists, and Christians who fled religious persecution in Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and Pakistan and arrived in India before December 31, 2014, will be eligible for Indian citizenship under a 2019 amendment.

Related Questions:-


write a comment


  • The Citizenship Act of 1955 saw six amendments in 1986, 1992, 2003, 2005, 2015, and 2019. Indian citizenship is determined and acquired by the Citizenship Act of 1955.

  • The Citizenship Act of 1955 included clauses for citizenship renunciation, termination, and deprivation. Citizenship Renunciation: If a citizen of India who is also a citizen of another nation renounces his Indian citizenship legally, he forfeits his Indian citizenship.

Follow us for latest updates