How many times did Ghazni attack India?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 3rd, 2022

Between 1000 and 1027 AD, Mahmud Ghazni attacked India 17 times. His campaigns were intended to obtain cash by theft. From 971 to 1030 AD, Mahmud Ghazni, often known as Mahmud of Ghazni, ruled Ghazni. So, to pillage India's wealth, he launched his first attack in 1001. He launched 17 attacks on India. In 1025, he launched his 16th assault on the Somnath temple solely to steal the wealth.

Mahmud Ghazni's Invasions of India 17 Times

The invasions of Mahmud of Ghazni in 1000 AD: In 1000 AD, Mahmud of Ghazni launched his first assault on contemporary Pakistan and Afghanistan.

He overthrew the Hindu emperor Jaya Pala, who eventually committed suicide and was replaced by his son Anandpala.

  • In 1005 AD, Ghazni attacked Bhatia.
  • Multan was conquered by Ghazni in 1006 AD. Ananda Pala attacked him at this point.
  • Sukha Pala, the king of Bhatinda, was assaulted and killed by Mahmud of Ghazni in 1007 AD.
  • In 1011 AD, Ghazni attacked Nagarkot in the hills of Punjab.
  • In the Battle of Waihind, which took place in 1013 AD near Peshawar, Mahmud attacked the Hind shahi kingdom led by Anand Pala and defeated him.
  • Thanesar was taken prisoner by Mahmud of Ghazni in 1014.
  • In 1015 AD, Kashmir was attacked by Mahmud of Ghazni.


How many times did Ghazni attack India?

Mahmud Ghazni led 17 attacks on India between 1000 and 1027 AD. His campaigns were designed to steal money.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates