How Many Railway Zones are There in India ?

By Sakshi Yadav|Updated : July 21st, 2022

Indian Railways is one of the largest rail networks in the world with a network span of 1,23,236 kilometers along with 17 Railway Zones and 68 Divisions. In terms of route kilometers, the northern zone is the largest zone and the southern zone is the first zone to be built on 14 April 1951.


How Many Railway Zones are There in India?

Indian Railway has 19 operational zones across the country and further these zones are divided into 70 divisions along with respective divisional headquarters. An Indian railway has 1.254 million employees and 7325 stations. The biggest railway zone is the northern zone which covers Haryana, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Delhi, and Chandigarh.

Related Links:



write a comment


UP StateUPPSC PCSVDOLower PCSPoliceLekhpalBEOUPSSSC PETForest GuardRO AROJudicial ServicesAllahabad HC RO ARO RecruitmentOther Exams

Follow us for latest updates