How Many Parts are in the Indian Constitution?

By K Balaji|Updated : January 3rd, 2023

There are 25 parts in the Indian Consitution. The Indian Constitution is the world's longest Constitution having nearly 470 articles in 25 parts, 12 schedules, and 105 amendments (as on October 2022). The Preamble is also an important part being the soul of the constitution. The Indian Constitution earlier had 395 articles and 22 parts. Later, 3 parts were added to it as modifications, bringing the total parts of the constitution of India to 25. Under these 25 parts of the Constitution, additional articles were also added. 

The Constituent Assembly of India adopted the Constitution on 26 November 1949. Therefore, we celebrate 'Constitution Day' or 'Samvidhan Divas' on 26 November every year to recognise its adoption.

Parts of the Indian Constitution

There have been 105 amendment acts passed to the Indian Constitution. The Constitution establishes a parliamentary government with some unitary characteristics and a federal framework.

  • The President is the official head of the Union's Executive under the Constitution.
  • The Council of the Parliament of the Union is comprised of the President, the Rajya Sabha, and the House of the People, in accordance with Article 79 of the Indian Constitution (Lok Sabha).
  • In accordance with Article 74(1) of the Constitution, the President performs his or her duties on the advice of the Prime Minister and the Ministers Council.
  • The actual executive authority thus rests with the Council of Ministers, which is led by the Prime Minister.
  • The union of states known as Bharat makes up the Indian Constitution.
  • The country is a Sovereign Socialist Secular Democratic Republic with a parliamentary system of government.
  • The Indian Constitution, approved by the Constituent Assembly on November 26, 1949, and took effect on January 26, 1950, governs the Republic.

Parts of the Indian Constitution

We have listed all 25 parts of the Indian Constitution below for a better understanding.





The Union and its territory

1 to 4



5 to 11


Fundamental Rights

12 to 35


Directive Principles of State Policy

36 to 51


Fundamental Duties



The Union Government

52 to 151

Chapter I - The Executive

52 to 78

Chapter II - Parliament

79 to 122

Chapter III - Legislative Powers of the President


Chapter IV - The Union Judiciary

124 to 147

Chapter V - Comptroller and Auditor-General of India

148 to 151


The State Governments

152 to 237

Chapter I - General


Chapter II - The Executive

153 to 167

Chapter III - The State Legislature

168 to 212

Chapter IV - Legislative Powers of the Governor


Chapter V - The High Courts

214 to 232

Chapter VI - Subordinate Courts

233 to 237


The Union Territories

239 to 242


The Panchayats

243 to 243-O


The Municipalities

243-P to 243-ZG


The Co-operative Societies

243-ZH to 243-ZT


The Scheduled and Tribal Areas

244 to 244-A


Relations between the Union and the States

245 to 263

Chapter I - Legislative Relations

245 to 255

Chapter II - Administrative Relations

256 to 263


Finance, Property, Contracts and Suits

264 to 300-A

Chapter I - Finance

264 to 291

Chapter II - Borrowing

292 to 293

Chapter III - Property, Contracts, Rights, Liabilities, Obligations and Suits

294 to 300

Chapter IV - Right to Property



Trade, Commerce and Intercourse within the Territory of India

301 to 307


Services under the Union and the States

308 to 323

Chapter I - Services

308 to 314

Chapter II - Public Service Commissions

315 to 323



323-A to 323-B



324 to 329-A


Special Provisions relating to Certain Classes

330 to 342


Official Languages

343 to 351

Chapter I - Language of the Union

343 to 344

Chapter II - Regional Languages

345 to 347

Chapter III-Language of the Supreme Court, High Courts, and so on

348 to 349

Chapter IV-Special Directives

350 to 351


Emergency Provisions

352 to 360



361 to 367


Amendment of the Constitution



Temporary, Transitional and Special Provisions

369 to 392


Short title, Commencement, Authoritative Text in Hindi and Repeals

393 to 395

To summarise, we can say that the 395 clauses in the original Indian Constitution were divided into 22 parts. The Indian Constitution later included 448 provisions and 25 sections as of 2021. Additional articles were also added to the Constitution under these 25 segments. As of today, there are about 470 articles overall.

Related Questions:


write a comment

FAQs on Parts in Indian Constitution

  • There are 25 Parts in the Indian Constitution. Originally, the Constitution had 22 parts, however, at a later stage, the number of parts increased. It now includes 470 articles, 12 Schedules and 105 amendments in total.

    Also, Read:

  • The 25 parts of the Indian Constitution explain to us the subject matters that are to be followed by the citizens of the country such as Union Territories, Fundamental rights, Directive Principles, etc. Every part of the Constitution is further divided into Articles. There are a total of 470 Articles in it.

Follow us for latest updates