How many mountain ranges are there in India?

By Ritesh|Updated : September 4th, 2022

There are about seven mountain ranges in India:

  1. The Himalayan mountains
  2. The Karakoram and Pir Panjal range
  3. Purvanchal range or eastern mountain range
  4. Vindhya and Satpura range
  5. Aravali range
  6. Eastern ghats
  7. Western ghats

Mountain Ranges in India

  • The Himalayan Mountains - From geology, the Himalayan Mountains form an unstable zone. The Himalayan mountain system presents a youthful topography with high peaks, deep valleys, and fast-flowing rivers. Mountains are the main source of water and forest wealth.
  • Karakoram and Pir Panjal Range - Located north and south of the Himalayas. Deo Tibba (6,001 m) and Indrasan (6,221 m) are two important peaks at the eastern end of the range.
  • Purvanchal Range or Eastern Mountain Range - This can be considered an extension of the Himalayas in the eastern part of India. This range includes all the eastern states of India, colloquially known as the "Seven Sisters."
  • Vindhya and Satpura Ranges - Located in Central India, these ranges run parallel. Kalumar Peak (752 m) and Dhupgarh Peak (1350 m) are the highest points in the Vindhya and Satpura ranges.
  • Aravali Range - It is the oldest mountain range in India and the world. The range varies from 10 km to 100 km. Guru Shikhar is the highest point in the Aravalli range, rising 1722 meters above sea level.
  • Eastern Ghats - They are a discontinuous mountain range that runs parallel to the Bay of Bengal in the eastern region of the Indian peninsula. They provide an extremely fertile area suitable for crops such as rice. The highest peak is Mahendragiri peak (1501 m)
  • Western Ghats – These are a 1600 m long mountain range in South India that stretches from Gujarat to Kanyakumari. The Western Ghats are a UNESCO World Heritage Site with rich biodiversity. The highest peak is Anaimudi (2695 m).


How many mountain ranges are there in India?

The seven mountain ranges in India are the Karakoram and Pir Panjal range, The Himalayan mountains, Vindhya and Satpura range, the Purvanchal range or eastern mountain range, eastern ghats, Aravali range, and western ghats.


write a comment

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates