How Many Members are in SCO?

By Shivank Goel|Updated : October 4th, 2022

The members of SCO are eight. SCO stands for Shanghai Cooperation Organization. The members of SCO are China, India, Tajikistan, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, and Uzbekistan. Four Observer States were involved in granting full membership (Belarus, Iran, Afghanistan, and Mongolia) and six "Dialogue Partners" (Nepal, Armenia, Sri Lanka, Azerbaijan, Cambodia, and Turkey).

Details of SCO and Partnerships

The SCO has been a viewer in the UN General Assembly since 2005. In 2010, the SCO Secretariats and the UN marked a Joint Declaration on Cooperation. SCO Secretariat has also founded collaborations with:

 Top International Organizations in the World


United Nations Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific


International Organization for Migration


UN Office on Counter-Terrorism


UN Office on Drugs and Crime


UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization


World Tourism Organization

Why is SCO an Important Group in The World?

The SCO works to improve education, transportation, environmental protection, energy, and other important areas in their member nations. Also, maintaining security and stability of peace in Central Asia is their job. The SCO is considered to be important for India as they can raise their concern again related to cross-border terrorism. It will also help India to improve their relations with Europe.

Related Questions:-


write a comment

FAQs on SCO Members

  • There are total 8 members of SCO. They are China, India, Tajikistan, Russia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan, and Uzbekistan. However, other countries can apply for its membership.

  • Dr. S. Jaishankar, External Affairs Minister, visited Tashkent between 28 to 29 July 2022 to take part in the meeting of the SCO Council of Foreign Ministers.

  • Iran is known to become the 9th member of SCO after completing the formalities while Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) member states who follow the system of agreement in choosing entry of new members will take a call on Belarus's application.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates