How many Maharatna Companies are in India?

By Mandeep Kumar|Updated : November 25th, 2022

There are 11 Maharatna Companies in India. The status of ‘Maharatna’ is accorded to a company that has witnessed more than Rs. 5,000 crores of net profit for three consecutive years, an average annual turnover of Rs. 25,000 crores for three years or should have an average annual net worth of Rs. 15,000 crores for three years.

Maharatna Companies are in India

Maharatna Companies are a type of government organisation in India. They are also referred to as government-owned businesses or government-owned corporations. Public Sector Undertakings (PSUs) or Public Sector Enterprises (PSEs) are organisations in which the Government of India has a financial or controlling interest or that the government has established for the development, monopoly control, offering goods and services to the public at reasonable prices, and for profit-making purposes.

List of Maharatna Companies in India

Following is the list of Mahartana Companies in India:

1. Power Grid Corporation of India Limited

2. Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited

3. Steel Authority of India Limited

4. GAIL India Limited

5. Indian Oil Corporation Limited

6. NTPC Limited

7. Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Limited

8. Oil & Natural Gas Corporation Limited

9. Power Finance Corporation

10. Bharat Heavy Electricals Limited

11. Coal India Limited


How many Maharatna Companies are in India?

In India, there are 11 Maharatna Companies. A company is given the title of "Maharatna" if it has a net profit of more than 5,000 crores rupees for three straight years, an average annual revenue of 25,000 crores rupees for three years, or an average annual net worth of 15,000 crores rupees for three years.

Related Questions:


write a comment

PO, Clerk, SO, Insurance


Follow us for latest updates