How Long is the Term for Prime Minister of India?

The Republic of India's head of state is the Prime Minister of India. The president of India is the constitutional, nominal, and ceremonial head of state, but the prime minister and their appointed Council of Ministers have executive authority. The Lok Sabha, the Republic of India's main legislative body, is the lower chamber of the Indian Parliament. Five years is the term for Prime Minister of India.

Term for Prime Minister of India

A prime minister may hold office indefinitely as long as the president has faith in them because they serve at "the pleasure of the president." The lower house of the Indian Parliament, the Lok Sabha, must have confidence in the prime minister. If a simple majority of Lok Sabha members vote to remove their confidence in the prime minister, a process known as a vote of no confidence, the prime minister's term may terminate before the conclusion of the Lok Sabha's term. This method has been used to remove three prime ministers: I. K. Gujral, H. D. Deve Gowda, and Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

The Lok Sabha is the body to which the Union Cabinet is collectively accountable under Article 75(3) of the Indian Constitution. The prime minister is required to have the support of the Lok Sabha's majority and must resign if he is unable to do so when instructed by the president.


write a comment


  • Five years is the ideal term for an Indian prime minister. If a resolution for a vote of no confidence is approved against him/her, however, he/she may resign or be dismissed before the end of his/her term.

  • According to Article 75(3) of the Indian Constitution, the Union Cabinet is collectively answerable to the Lok Sabha. When commanded by the president, the prime minister must resign if he is unable to get the majority's support in the Lok Sabha.

Follow us for latest updates