[Updated] List of First Female Personalities in India, Study Notes, Material - All Teaching Exams

By Komal|Updated : January 27th, 2022

In this article, we should read related to the First Female Personalities in India, Important for the DSSSB PRT & TGT exam.

First Indian Female Personalities List

First Indian Female


to win an Olympic medal

Karnam Malleswari (Bronze)

Airline Pilot

Durba Banerjee

to go into space

Kalpana Chawla

to climb Mt. Everest

Bachendri Pal

to swim across the English Channel

Arati Saha (also known as Arati Gupta)

Musician to get “Bharat Ratna”


to win a Gold in Asian Games

Kamaljeet Sandhu

to win the Booker Prize

Arundhati Roy

to win WTA Title

Sania Mirza

to win Nobel Prize

Mother Teresa

to get Jnanpith Award

Ashapurna Devi

to get Ashok Chakra

Nirja Bhanot


Mrs Pratibha Patil

Prime Minister

Mrs Indira Gandhi


Sarojini Naidu

Ruler (Delhi’s throne)

Razia Sultan

IPS Officer

Kiran Bedi

Chief Minister of a state

Sucheta Kripalani (the State was Uttar Pradesh)

Judge of the Supreme Court

Meera Sahib Fatima Bibi

President at UN General Assembly

Vijayalakshmi Pandit

Union Minister

Rajkumari  Amrita Kaur

Miss Universe

Sushmita Sen

Miss World

Reita Faria

Note: There is a difference between the First Woman President of Indian National Congress (INC) who is Annie Besant and the First Indian Woman President of Indian National Congress (INC) who is Sarojini Naidu.

This article tends to be beneficial for the following exams - REETUPTETCTETSuper TETDSSSBKVS etc.
Suggested Books:

Serial No.Book NameAuthor Name
1.General Knowledge 2021Manohar Pandey
2.Lucent's General Knowledge
 R. P. Suman, Renu Sinha, Sanjeev Kumar, Vinay Karna, Manvendra Mukul
3.General Knowledge 2020Arihant Experts


Download the BYJU’S Exam Prep App Now.
The most comprehensive exam prep app


 Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)



write a comment


  • Reita Faria was the First Indian Female Miss World.

  •  The First Indian Female to climb Mt. Everest was Bachendri Pal.

  •  The First Indian Female to win the Booker Prize was Arundhati Roy.

  •  The First Indian Female to go into space was Kalpana Chawla.

PRT, TGT & PGT Exams

KVS Recruitment ExamNVS ExamDSSSB ExamUP Assistant Teacher (Super TET)UP Junior Teacher Recruitment ExamUP TGT PGT Recruitment ExamArmy Public School Teacher ExamUPPSC GIC Lecturer Exam

Follow us for latest updates