Explain the Treaty of Vienna of 1815.

By Shivank Goel|Updated : October 4th, 2022

The Vienna Treaty of 1815 was officially signed agreeing to work together and create a solution for Europe. It was signed between the allied nations of Austria, Great Britain, Prussia, and Russia. The main objective of this treaty was to reverse all the changes that the Napoleonic Wars had brought to Europe.

The Treaty of Vienna of 1815

The Austrian Empire, the Kingdom of Prussia and the Kingdom of Denmark signed the Treaty of Vienna in Vienna on October 30, 1864. The treaty ended the Second Schleswig War. The duchies of Schleswig, Holstein and Lauenburg were ceded by Denmark. In a federation, they would be jointly controlled by Prussia and Austria.

According to the terms of the Treaty of Vienna;

  • The Bourbon family was restored to power in France.
  • France lost the contracts made by Napoleon.
  • In the north, the Netherlands was established, and in the south, Piedmont included Genoa.
  • Northern Italy was transferred to Austria.
  • New lands were granted on the western border of Prussia.

Related Questions:


write a comment

FAQs on the Treaty of Vienna of 1815.

  • The Treaty of Vienna was a peace treaty signed on 30 October 1864 in Vienna between the Austrian Empire, the Kingdom of Prussia, and the Kingdom of Denmark. The treaty ended the Second War of Schleswig.

  • The principal goals of the Treaty of Vienna of 1815 were to reinstate the Napoleonic kingdoms and establish a new, conservative order in Europe.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates