Describe the Language Policy of India

By Shivank Goel|Updated : September 8th, 2022

As per the language policy of India, no single language has been titled the national language of the Constitution of India. However the official language of the Indian Constitution is Hindi, but only a minority of Indian citizens cannot speak Hindi. As a result, many protections were placed on protecting the other languages.

Language Policy of India

As per the language Policy of India-

  • There is no national language in the Constitution of Indian.
  • Along with Hindi, 21 languages are considered the official languages of the Indian Constitution.
  • Since most of the parts of countries do not know how to speak Hindi, so the India constitution has adopted certain steps as a precautionary measure to protect the non-Hindi speaking regions.

Related Questions:-


write a comment

FAQs on Describe the language Policy of India

  • According to the Indian Constitution, the official language of India is Hindi, but only a minority of Indian citizens cannot speak Hindi. Thus, special precautions were adopted by the Indian constitution, according to which 21 states' languages were given special preference.

  • There are 22 official languages in India. It includes Hindi, Urdu, Telugu, Tamil, Punjabi, Oriya, Marathi, Malayalam, Kashmiri, Kannada, Gujarati, Bengali, Assamese, Sindhi, and more.

Featured Articles

Follow us for latest updates