Niti Aayog Vice Chairman: Check Objectives and Composition of NITI Aayog

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : Jan 11, 2022, 12:25

The NITI Aayog, also known as the planning commission of India, got instituted on January 1, 2015, with Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Mr Arvind Panagariya as the first vice-chairman of NITI Aayog. While the word "NITI" in Sanskrit means righteousness and guidance, in the present context, it means the right approach, and the NITI is an acronym for National Institution for Transforming India. 

NITI Aayog is India's leading policy-making institution that helps enhance India's economic growth. It strives to build a strong state that will assist in creating a spirited and powerful country to make India arise as an influential economy in the world. In addition, the NITI Aayog's creation holds two centres called "Knowledge and Innovation Hub" and "Team India Hub". 

NITI Aayog is also developing itself as a State of the Art Resource Hub, with the necessary resources, skills and knowledge to remain empowered to work with agility, innovation and advanced research to handle unanticipated problems. 

Also, the principal reason for establishing NITI Aayog is that individuals had anticipations for change and development in the Government through their participation. This required institutional modifications in management and operational strategy modifications that could plant and facilitate considerable scale transformation. 

NITI Aayog Objectives 

  • The active engagement of States in the light of national goals and to deliver a framework for 'national agenda'.
  • To facilitate collaborative federalism through well-composed sponsorship endeavours and mechanisms with the States on an uninterrupted ground.
  • To create strategies to develop a dependable process at the village level and aggregate these slowly at topmost levels of Government.
  • An economic approach that includes national safety interests.
  • To offer strategic and long-term approach and agenda frameworks and endeavours, and check their improvement and their effectiveness.
  • To give advice and promote collaborations between significant stakeholders and national-global Think Tanks and academic and policy analysis institutions.
  • To present a platform for the solution of inter-departmental and inter-sectoral problems to expedite the achievement of the advanced agenda.
  • To maintain a state-of-the-art Resource Centre, be a storehouse of analysis on good administration and most profitable practices in sustainable and fair development and help their allocation to participants. 
  • To effectively evaluate and screen the execution of agendas and initiatives, including the identification of the required resources to support the possibility of success.

Who are the chairman and present vice-chairman of NITI Aayog?

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is the chairman, and Dr Rajiv Kumar is the current vice-chairman of NITI Aayog. 

Composition of NITI Aayog

The NITI Aayog in India comprise of the following:

  • Prime Minister as the Chairman and a NITI Aayog vice-chairman.
  • Governing Council includes Chief Ministers of every state and Union Territories. 
  • Special Invitees include renowned professionals and experts with relevant domain knowledge appointed by the Prime Minister.
  • 4 Ex Officio members nominated by the Prime Minister
More Current Affair Topics:
National Mathematics DayNational Sports Day
National Youth DayWhat is IPO
National Education DayLongest Bridge in India
Largest Solar Power PlantNational Dengue Day
National Engineers DayNational Small Industry Day

FAQs about Niti Aayog Vice Chairman

  • What does NITI Aayog stand for?

NITI AAYOG is an acronym for NATIONAL INSTITUTION FOR TRANSFORMING INDIA. Its role is to facilitate collaborative nationalism through structured aid endeavours and mechanisms with the States constantly, remembering that powerful States build a strong nation.

  • Who is the current vice-chairman of NITI Aayog?

Dr Rajiv Kumar is the present vice-chairman of Niti Aayog

  • Who was NITI Aayog first vice-chairman?

Mr Arvind Panagariya was the first vice chairman of NITI Aayog

  • Who is the chairman of NITI Aayog?

Prime Minister is the chairman of NITI Aayog in India.