India Dynasty

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : May 25, 2022, 10:56

India has a long history that has seen the rise and fall of many different kingdoms. Here is an overview of ancient Indian dynasties and their contributions. The India Dynasty is diverse, and you must be aware of its features.

List of India Dynasty

Mahajanapada (600 BC - 325 BC)

The precise meaning is 'great realm,' derived from the words 'maha' and 'janapada'; 'tribal footing, 'country.' It is one of Ancient India's sixteen kingdoms oligarchic republics. They are listed below:

  • Anga
  • Assaka
  • Avanti
  • Chedi
  • Gandhara
  • Kashi
  • Kamboja
  • Kosala
  • Kuru
  • Magadha
  • Malla
  • Machcha
  • Panchala
  • Surasena
  • Vrijji
  • Vatsa

The famous rulers of this dynasty are Bimbisara, Ajatashatru and Udayin.

Shishunaga Dynasty

The dynasty was formed by Shishunaga, the Minister of King Nag-Dasak of the Hrayanka dynasty. The dynasty's crowning victory was the defeat of Avanti. During the reign of Kalashoka (Kakvarna), the second Buddhist Council was held in Vaishali (383 BC).

Nanda Dynasty

By overthrowing the Shisunaga dynasty, Mahapadma (also known as Sarvakshatrantak) means Uprooter of all the Kshatriyas; Ugrasena, which means Owner of a large army founded the kingdom. "The first empire builder in Indian history," according to Mahapdma. He was referred to in the Puranas as Ekrat, which means single Monarch. Alexander's invasion of northwest India took place in 326 BC, under the reign of Dhanananda.

Maurya Dynasty

Chandragupta Maurya dethroned Dhananad, the last Nanda ruler and took over Patliputra. He was succeeded by Bindusara, who was then followed by Ashoka the great. He is well-known for his Dhamma administration and Dhamma Principle.

The Indo-Greeks

Sometimes known as Milinda, Menander was an Indo-Greek king who reigned from 165 to 145 BC. According to the Millindapanho (Pali Text), the first gold coins were issued in India by the Greeks, who were converted to Buddhism by Nagasena. Hellenistic artwork was introduced in this era.

The Shakas

Rudradaman I (130-150 AD) was the ruler of Kathiawar and was responsible for the restoration of Shudarshana Lake. The first inscription in Chaste Sanskrit was issued (Junagarh Inscription.)

Kushanas Dynasty

Nomadic people from the steppes, often known as Yechi or Tocharians, were a part of this dynasty. Kanishka was the greatest ruler of the Kushanas, beginning the Saka Era in 78 AD. Several scholars such as Parsva, Vasumitra, Asvagosha, Nagarjuna, Charak (Physician), and Mathara found patronage in Kanishka's court.

Sunga Dynasty

Patanjali, author of the 'Mahabhasya,' was born in Gonarda, Central India, and was established by Pushymitra Sunga (Brahmin Commander-in-Chief of the last Maurya Ruler). Pushymitra Sunga performed two Asvamedha Yajnas, and Patanjali was the priest.

The most notable monument of the Sunga period is the Bharhut Stupa. Bhaja (Poona) Vihar, Chaitya, Stupa, Amaravati Stupa, and Nasika Chaitya are examples of Sunga Art.

Kanva Dynasty

The Kanva Dynasty is a dynasty established by Vasudeva Kanva. Vasudeva was a minister of the Shunga Emperor Devabhuti, who he then assassinated and established the rule of the Kanva dynasty.

☛ Also Read: Current Affairs Today

Satavahanas Dynasty

The Satavahanas Dynasty was a Hindu dynasty that ruled India. Simuka founded the dynasty (60-37 BC). Many chaityas (Worship Halls) and Viharas (Monasteries) were chiselled out of rocks under the Satavahanas, primarily in the North-West Deccan or Maharashtra, with Nasik, Kanheri, and Karle being notable examples.


The Pandyas are a family that lived in India. Megasthenese was the first to mention them. They traded with the Roman Empire and dispatched ambassadors to Augustus. Kadungon was the founder of the dynasty. The dynasty is famous for its five kings. From the 12th to the 14th centuries, the 'Five Pandyas' thrived, eventually gaining control of the entire plains of the extreme south, as far north as Nellore.

Chola Dynasty

The Chola Dynasty was a South India Dynasty. It was also known as Cholamandalam, and it was located between the Pennar and Vellar rivers to the northeast of the Pandya Kingdom. The capital city was Kaveripattanam/Puhar.

Important UPSC Topics
UPSC Exam PatternIAS Age Limit
UPSC BooksUPSC Syllabus in Hindi
UPSC Admit CardUPSC Prelims
IAS SyllabusUPSC Question Paper
UPSC Cut OffUPSC Mains

Chera Dynasty

Vanji (now Kerala) was the kingdom's capital and trade centre with the Romans. A significant part of Kerala's and Tamil Nadu's culture has been derived from the Chera dynasty. The Cheras ruled Kerala's central and northern regions and Tamil Nadu's Kongu region. Their capital was Vanji, and they controlled the west coast ports of Musiri and Tondi.

Sangam Age

Post-Maurya and pre-Gupta periods correspond to this period. It was a royally sanctioned college or assembly of Tamil poets. Tiruvalluvar, widely known as the 'Fifth Veda' or the 'Bible of Tamil Land,' was written in Kural script.

Gupta Dynasty

The Gupta Dynasty rose to its fame with Chandragupta I acquiring the title of Maharajadhiraja. He was succeeded by Samudragupta, who Chandragupta II then followed. During Chandragupta II's tenure, the court had Navratnas excelling in different spheres.

The Dynasty of India is quite diverse. The Gupta Dynasty was followed by the Pushyabhuti Dynasty, Rashtrakutas Dynasty, Gangas Dynasty and Pallavas Dynasty. All of these dynasties have shaped the culture and heritage of India and have contributed significantly to the history of the country.

More Current Affairs Topics
World Pneumonia DayWorld Humanitarian Day
Lakdawala CommitteeLa Perouse Exercise
Khosla CommitteeKavach Elisa
International Monetary FundInternational Labour Organisation
International Development AssociationIntended Nationally Determined Contributions [INDC]

FAQs on India Dynasty

Q1. Who founded the India Dynasty of Rashtrakutas?

Dantidurg found the India Dynasty of Rashtrakutas

Q2. Simhavishnu founded which famous India Dynasty?

Simhavishnu founded the India Dynasty of Pallavas.

Q3. Which India Dynasty did Chandragupta Maurya belong to?

Chandragupta Maurya was the first ruler of the Mauryan India Dynasty.

Q4. Which did India Dynasty emerge in 600 BC?

The Mahjanpadas India Dynasty was started in the year 600 BC.