What is the EWS Certificate Eligibility?

By : Neha Dhyani

Updated : May 20, 2022, 10:16

EWS stands for Economically Weaker Section which is essentially a part of the society of India. This section belongs to the unreserved category including people who don't belong to the SC/ST/OBC categories that enjoy reservation benefits. The Indian Constitution gives a 10% reservation to EWS members for education and job opportunities.

The EWS Certificate is required to claim the reservation quota. It is also called the Income and Assets' certificate and can be obtained at the local government authority through an application process that varies by state.

The designated officer verifies the documents and processes the application to issue an EWS Certificate that you can use as proof to claim a reserved seat under the quota.

EWS Certificate Eligibility - Overview

The government of India, 2019, introduced a 10% reservation for the economically weaker section of the general category in educational institutes and government jobs. This reservation exists in addition to the 50% mandatory reservation for the SC/ST/OBC categories.

Aspiring students and job seekers from the general category can enjoy the reservation benefits if they can obtain the EWS Certificate. However, there are eligibility criteria that candidates should fulfil to claim the reservation under the EWS quota.

Important UPSC Topics
UPSC Exam PatternIAS Age Limit
UPSC BooksUPSC Syllabus in Hindi
UPSC Admit CardUPSC Prelims
IAS SyllabusUPSC Question Paper
UPSC Cut OffUPSC Mains

EWS Certificate Eligibility - Terms and Conditions

Below are the conditions one must meet for the EWS Certificate Eligibility.

  • The person must belong to the General' category which means he/she should not be claiming reservation under SC/ST/OBC quotas
  • The gross annual family income should not exceed Rs. 8 lakh combining income from all sources like salary, business, agriculture, etc.
  • If the applicant's family owns agricultural land, it should not exceed 5 acres
  • The family should also not own a residential plot of over 100 yards (in notified municipalities) and 200 square yards (other than notified municipalities)
  • If the family owns a flat, it should not have an area of more than 100 square feet

☛ Also Read: Current Affairs Today

The EWS rules consider family as the person applying for the EWS Certificate, his/her parents, siblings younger than 18 years, spouse, and kids below 18 years. The property and land owned in different localities will be clubbed when checking the EWS Certificate Eligibility.

More Current Affairs Topics
El Nino and La NinaEl Nino
Election Laws in IndiaElectoral Reforms In India
Electronic Warfare DevicesEMI Holiday
EndosulfanEmperor Akbar
Energy Conservation ActEnergy Flow in the Ecosystem

FAQs on EWS Certificate Eligibility

Q.1. Is the EWS Certificate only for the General category?

Yes, the EWS Certificate quota is only for the General category not covering the already reserved sections of SC, ST, and OBC.

Q.2. What is the validity of the EWS Certificate?

The issuing authority for the EWS Certificate decides the validity though it expires in one year in general.

Q.3. Can a person have both OBC and EWS Certificates?

If you fulfil the criteria for the EWS Certificate, you can get it in addition to the OBC certificate but will have to apply under the general category to use it.

Q.4. Is the EWS Certificate valid all over India?

The EWS Certificate of proof can be used to avail the reservation for the economically weaker section in education and government jobs across the country.